Sweet Potato Skillet and a Run!

Good morning! Yesterday I had an awesome day off work. I slept in, did a T25 workout, and went out for a run. I had initially intended on only doing 1 mile, this was my first run since my half marathon in November. But, I remembered how much I loved running and I ran 2 instead, and walked a quarter mile for a cool down. I was jamming to my Taylor Swift album (love her new music… I’m kindof obsessed) , and the weather was so nice I just didn’t want to go inside!

After my workout I made myself a big breakfast- a sweet potato skillet. Here is the recipe for this amazing breakfast!

sweetpotatoskillet

Ingredients:

1/2 peeled and cubed sweet potato, 1/2 chopped green pepper, 1/4 chopped onion, 1 slice bacon, 2 eggs, 1/8 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper, sriracha sauce

First, I cooked the bacon in a frying pan. Then removed the bacon and used the grease to cook the onion and green pepper until tender and golden. Then I added the paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste, and sweet potato. I poured in some water (about 1/4 cup) and gave it a stir, covered it and let it cook on medium low for about 10 min stirring occasionally. Once the potatoes were soft and browned on the outside I added back my bacon (chopped) and made 2 wells in the veggies and cracked an egg in each well. I cooked the eggs, covered, until the whites were set and the yolks were still a bit runny. I LOVE runny eggs! Then I added a few drops of sriracha sauce, which made it sweet and spicy. Yummm! This breakfast came to 318 calories, and it kept me full and satisfied for hours.

Last night I decided I was getting tired of protein bars as pre-workout snacks so I also made brownie energy bites, and I will post the recipe soon! I have still been keeping up with my calorie counting, yay! I got in another T25 workout this morning and had a green smoothie, and I’ll post a recipe for my green smoothies soon also. Have a healthy happy day! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Skillet and a Run!

Leave a Reply

