Blackberries & BBQ!

Happy Friday! This morning I got in a double T25 workout, yay! I always dread having to do two in one day but I tell ya, I really get an amazing feeling of accomplishment. I had a well deserved green smoothie afterwards!

To continue Blackberry Palooza, I had probably the best salad I have ever eaten. And I have eaten A LOT of salads in my 26 years… (going to be 27 tomorrow!) This salad hits all the awesome parts of your tongue- sweet, salty, and sour. It is just amazing and after I give you the recipe you have to make it, pronto!!

blackberrysalad

Blackberry Bacon Salad with Honey Balsamic Dressing

Ingredients: 3 slices crumbled bacon, spinach, 1/4 cup blue cheese crumbles, 1 sliced green onion, 1/2 cup blackberries

Dressing: 1/3 cup olive oil, 1/3 cup balsamic vinaigrette, 2 tbsp honey, 1/2 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp cinnamon

The dressing recipe makes enough for several salads for me, I only used about 1-2 tbsp of dressing on my salad.  Although all these ingredients sound like they wouldn’t go together, I thought it was amazing! My salad came to about 427 calories, most of which come from the bacon. The original recipe called for turkey bacon, but I just cannot seem to make myself like it! I have really tried, on more than one occasion, but it just doesn’t compare to the real thing! 😦

Last night, I also tried something new, that every southern girl probably tries at least once: barbecue.

bbq

I made homemade bbq for the first time ever, and it was definitely a success! Plus it is so easy, and way cheaper than buying it from a restaurant! And I know eating things like bacon and bbq aren’t necessarily “healthy”, but in small portions I think most anything is permissible. Eating these sorts of things in moderation keeps me from going crazy on a weak day and ordering a baconator!

You can find the recipe for the bbq I made here.

Leave a Reply

