Kale Salad! Yaaay!

Today I got in a dynamic core T25 workout, and had one of my strawberry chia seed muffins and some eggs! I have still been keeping up with my calorie counting… which makes over 1 month now of calorie counting every day. Wow, I am so proud of myself! Now it has really become a habit, and I hope I continue to lose weight on this plan. Since I started cleaning up my diet and working out more (which was in January) I have lost 12 lbs… woohoo! I really hope to continue to see the scale go down through the summer. 🙂

Today I had a very vegetarian lunch… and I didn’t even plan on it! Most days I eat very little meat anyway, I could totally be a vegetarian if I wasn’t married! I had a kale salad with a baked potato (with a little cheese and some plain greek yogurt), and it was delicious!

IMG_0044

Here’s the recipe for this amazing salad. Which, btw, I had never eaten raw kale before I made this salad. I am definitely going to start eating it raw more often. After I eat kale I always feel like I have super powers! I just know I ate something awesome for my body so I feel amazing afterwards, haha!

IMG_0043

Kale Salad

ingredients: bunch of kale, shredded coconut, slivered almonds, 1 chopped avocado

ingredients for dressing: 1 minced shallot, 3 tbsp lemon juice, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp crushed red pepper, 1 tsp maple syrup

Directions: First tear up the kale removing all the thick stems. Then whisk together the dressing ingredients and pour half of it over the kale, and massage for a few minutes. This will break down the kale a bit and make it more tender. Add in shredded coconut, almonds, and avocado and BAM you have a super healthy and delicious salad!

I only ate about half of mine with the baked potato, hopefully it will stay good for another day and I can eat the other half tomorrow. This lunch came to about 500 calories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

