Muffins and a Run!

Good morning!!

Tuesday I had an awesome day off work- I got a T25 cardio workout in and then went for a 2 mile run… that was completely pain free! I tell ya, foam rollers are magical. I spend 2 minutes on the thing and all my knee pain is gone! I took the run pretty slow, and maybe next week I’ll speed up and do 3 miles. The weather is amazing here, so I am enjoying every minute of my runs now! I even got a chance to lay out in the yard and read… glorious! Right now I’m reading Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss… Garrett begged me to read it. It’s pretty good so far!

I tried a new muffin recipe, and it was amazing. They are Strawberry Chia Seed Muffins, and they don’t taste remotely healthy (but they totally are!).

Breakfast on Tuesday!

Breakfast on Tuesday!

Ingredients: 1 egg, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup + 2 tbsp chopped strawberries, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, pinch salt, 2 tbsp applesauce, 2 tbsp greek yogurt, 1/2 cup sugar (or baking stevia), 3/4 tsp vanilla, 1/4 cup almond milk

Preheat oven to 375. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. Beat yogurt and applesauce together in large bowl with sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Slowly mix in milk and flour, alternating them. Fold in strawberries and chia seeds. Fill muffin tin with batter and bake about 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Mine made 7 muffins, and I actually froze 4 of them to eat later… if I keep that many muffins around I will eat them all!

My muffin came to about 150 calories, which compared to a traditional muffin is pretty amazing!

3 thoughts on “Muffins and a Run!

Leave a Reply

