Morning Run, Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie and Trail Mix!

Good morning! I went for a 3 mile run this morning, and I have a little secret.

I really REALLY didn’t want to.

But I put my big girl pants on, and went out anyway. I wore my half marathon shirt from November, and was pleased to see that it was A LOT looser than when I ran in it, so that gave me a little boost to get my butt going! I got caught in a light drizzle around mile 1, and by the end of mile 2 I was in a downpour! At first I really enjoyed it, but by the end I was very cold, and very wet!

At first I really enjoyed running in the rain, but that soon turned to me feeling cold and wet!

At first I really enjoyed running in the rain, but that soon turned to me feeling cold and wet!

After my run I had a delicious Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie! As always you can change the fruit for something else- I have had this with strawberries or cherries instead of raspberries. They’re all good!

Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie

Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • pinch truvia
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1 cup light almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen avocado
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 cup water

Blend until smooth and enjoy! I LOVE this smoothie because it’s so rich and creamy- one of those smoothies that honestly don’t taste healthy. It tastes like dessert! It’s almost 400 calories, so it’s kindof a lot. But it’s full of awesome things like fiber, protein, and calcium to keep me going the rest of the day.

Last night I made some trail mix for mine and Garrett’s road trip coming up. I know there are tons of trail mixes out there but I never like them! They’re always mostly peanuts and I don’t like peanuts that much, so I made my own!

Homemade Trail Mix

I mixed together: 1 cup M&Ms, 1 cup raisins, 1 cup cashews, and 1 cup Bare Naked Vanilla Granola. Per 1/4 cup serving, this is 158 calories.

Trail Mix

I realize this isn’t super healthy, but to me it is much better than eating a lot of junk food. Typically on a road trip, I would have loaded up on crackers, chips or oreos. When shopping for road trip food last night, I think I had A LOT of restraint not getting snack cakes and cookies instead of granola and nuts!

Trail Mix

At least I know a serving of this will keep my husband and I full and not reaching for something like a candy bar or chips!

Have an amazing weekend y’all! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Morning Run, Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie and Trail Mix!

Leave a Reply

