Avocado Caprese Salad

Happy Thursday!

After going on vacation we had zero food in our fridge, so I went to the grocery store yesterday and stocked up on all healthy things! Usually I plan our meals for the week, but this week I have been lacking motivation a bit so I just grabbed a bunch of random things and hopefully I can create some great things to eat this week!

I have to admit, I did not work out this morning. Or yesterday morning. Ugh, ever since I hurt my back I have been afraid to work out as hard as I used to, I keep finding myself taking it easy. After going a whole week not working out from being on vacation, it has been hard for me to get back into my old routine. I am planning on working out tonight when I get home. I have been in this same situation before, when I lost a little weight and decided that I can go back to the lifestyle I had before because I’m done. Well now I know, you’re never done with being healthy. It lasts for my entire life, and I will probably struggle with food and exercise forever! But I know when I have a routine going it gets much easier, to the point that I really don’t have to think about it anymore.

I can say that since I got back from vacation I have been eating healthy! I made this Avocado Caprese Salad for lunch today, and it was delicious! I think I’m missing the awesome pizza I had in Boston, and I have been craving basil!

Avocado Caprese Salad

Avocado Caprese Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 slices mozzarella (the good kind)
  • 1 roma tomato, cubed
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • fresh basil leaves, slivered
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • honey or other sweetener to taste
  • pepper

Mix oil, vinegar, and honey/sweetener to make dressing. Arrange all the rest of the ingredients, and drizzle dressing over salad. Yum!! This salad came to 472 calories. It was delicious and totally hit the spot for me!

Leave a Reply

