Saturday Weigh in and Chocolate Chip Banana Bread!

Good morning! I weighed myself this morning, not really expecting much. But I weighed 153 lbs! Since I weighed 156 earlier this week I’m more than a little surprised, but I’ll take it! 🙂

Yesterday I got in a Jillian Michaels 6 Week 6 Pack video, and I really enjoyed it! I have decided that, backache or not, I need to get back into a challenging workout routine. And my back didn’t hurt at all! Yaaay! 🙂

ECU Pirates!

I was rockin my ECU Pirates gear for my workout. I enjoy my workouts way more if I like what I’m wearing!

Yesterday I made this amazing chocolate chip banana bread- it was so delicious!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Usually I don’t enjoy banana bread all that much but this recipe tasted more like cake.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

And at 167 calories a slice, it’s perfect if you want to stay on track with a healthy lifestyle!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup oil (or milk, or applesauce if you want to cut calories)
  • 2/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 cups mashed overripe bananas (this was 2 1/2 bananas for me)
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • pinch truvia
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips for batter, plus some for the top

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a loaf pan. In a large mixing bowl, whisk all wet ingredients. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Pour into loaf pan, and sprinkle chocolate chips on top. Bake for 35 minutes, then shut off oven and leave bread to cook an additional 10 minutes. I let mine cool for about 10 minutes before taking it out of the pan. This makes 12 slices, and is 167 calories per slice if you use oil. Enjoy!

I had this for dessert last night and breakfast this morning with some scrambled eggs… I had to bring some of it to work so it won’t tempt me at home! It’s super delicious heated up with a little bit of butter also. Have a healthy happy weekend y’all! 🙂

One thought on “Saturday Weigh in and Chocolate Chip Banana Bread!

Leave a Reply

