Mother’s Day and a Blueberry Watermelon Smoothie!

Happy Monday!

So, yesterday was Mother’s Day and I started the day out with a run and an upper body workout. I had planned on running 3 miles but I only ended up doing 2 because it was so hot and humid! I guess my body just isn’t used to it yet, it was a really challenging 2 miles for me! My upper body workout went great, I used 10 lb weights and I am really feeling it today. That sore feeling is the best, it lets me know I really pushed myself! 🙂

For Mother’s Day I made my family and Garrett’s family a coconut cake with raspberry filling- and no this is not a healthy recipe!! You can find the recipe here.

Coconut and raspberry cake

But it was awesome! And like I often say, I think everything is ok in moderation. I only ate 1 piece, which is pretty great willpower for me. I spent the rest of the day with my mom and sister shopping for shoes for Sydni’s wedding! Is there a better way to spend an afternoon with your mom? I think not! But I am a bad daughter for not taking any pictures yesterday other than of my cake, haha! But this is a picture of us at my wedding 2 years ago!

Wedding picture with mom

I have got to try to take more pictures of my mom and me!

This morning, since my arms are still super sore, I tried 21 Day Fix Lower Fix. That was tough! I really liked it though, I will be doing that one again for sure! I had a tough time walking down the stairs to get to work this morning after that workout!

Afterwards I had a blueberry watermelon smoothie, and it was one of the best ones I’ve made so far!

Blueberry Watermelon Smoothie

I swear, I think I could open a smoothie shop with all the smoothies I know how to make now! 🙂

Blueberry Watermelon Smoothie

Blueberry Watermelon Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup 0% plain greek yogurt
  • 1 cup light almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 cup frozen watermelon chunks
  • pinch truvia
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 ice cubes

Blend until smooth, and enjoy! This smoothie came to 409 calories. It was so delicious, I can’t believe I never thought to put blueberries and watermelon together before!

Have a healthy happy week y’all! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day and a Blueberry Watermelon Smoothie!

Leave a Reply

