Saturday Weigh in and Healthy Cinnamon Roll Pancakes!

This morning I weighed myself and… I weighed 154 lbs. Not gonna lie, I seriously wanted to put up here that I had lost something, but nope. I have been yoyoing around this weight for about 3 weeks so I’m thinking I need to change something up to get back to losing weight again. This week I worked out 3 times instead of the usual 6, and honestly I think I will feel a bit deprived if I narrow my calories down very much. SO, my plan coming up this week will be stepping up my workout regimen, and staying below my calorie count every day. I have been staying around 1500 calories every day, some days less and some days a little more. I do not think that this is bad, I just think maybe I need to be burning more calories in my workouts than what I am currently doing.

I think the days of easy weight loss are over for me- most of my life I have been around 155 lbs so if I want to weigh less than that, I will need to do something new. Tonight I’m going to come up with a workout schedule for the week and I’ll post it soon!

Aaaaand on to the recipe! Last night for dinner I was feeling adventurous and thought I would try out a cinnamon roll pancake recipe that I found here. Y’all, these are SO delicious.

Healthy Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Seriously, I think these are the best pancakes I’ve ever eaten, at IHOP or at home!

Healthy Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

And the best part is, I didn’t totally wreck my day of healthy eating! Instead of making 20 or so silver dollar size pancakes, I made 4 medium size ones. I ate two of those pancakes with cream cheese frosting, making my dinner about 400 calories. Similar pancakes from IHOP are 900 calories!

Healthy Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Healthy Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Ingredients for Filling

  • 1 cup dates
  • 1/4 cup milk (any kind)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Ingredients for Pancake Batter

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch truvia
  • 1 cup milk (any kind)
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Put filling ingredients in food processor and blend until very smooth, this took me about 5 minutes of blending. I actually chopped my dates first and then blended them, but you may not need to. You may need to add more milk to get the dates smooth. Put the mixture into a plastic bag and squeeze all the air out. Snip the end of the bag off to make a piping bag. Set aside while you make the pancake batter.

To make the batter, mix all dry ingredients in a small bowl. Mix all wet ingredients in a medium bowl. Add dry to wet, and stir until combined. Get a frying pan to medium high heat, then lower heat to medium and pour pancake mix onto greased pan. Immediately pipe the date mixture onto the pancake, and cook until the edges look dry. Flip and cook an additional minute. *Note- the date mixture burns very fast so keep an eye on it!

You can serve these with syrup, or with cream cheese frosting. To make my frosting, I heated up 1 oz of cream cheese and mixed it with a little truvia and vanilla. Yum!

I enjoyed these pancakes while I watched the season finale of Vampire Diaries… and I cried the WHOLE TIME. Ugh, Vampire Diaries, you know how to pull on my heartstrings. Does anybody else watch that show? Did you cry like a baby too?!

Leave a Reply

