Hair of the Dog and Brussel Sprout Salad!

Happy Wednesday!

Yesterday Garrett and I had the day off so we decided to meet up with friends in Virginia Beach and try a new restaurant, for us anyway, called Hair of the Dog!

Lunch

While having a really cool name and interesting menu, the place also had amazing drinks and food!! For the first time ever I tried chicken and waffles. I had been wanting to try this concoction for years and just never went to a restaurant that had it. Now I know what I have been missing out on all these years!

Chicken and waffles

Yes, I know chicken and waffles is not healthy at all, and that’s ok! With my diet I count calories and if everything I eat for the day adds up to 1500 calories or less, it’s all good. I do try to eat healthy things most of the time, but it’s ok to splurge every once in a while. And boy, this was a splurge that was worth it. Plus, who knew waffles with beer would be so delicious?!

After lunch we headed to an Asian market and picked up some dragon fruit and lychee. I haven’t done anything with the dragon fruit, I think I will at least make a smoothie with it! The lychee I have been snacking on since we bought some- they are so delicious! They’re also very nutritious and SUPER sweet. I tried to find a recipe to use the lychee (pictured below) but all I could find were cake or icecream recipes. I will keep looking though!

Lychee

Last week I bought some brussel sprouts and decided to use them in a salad, just for a different veggie to have around the house. I have to switch up what I eat so I don’t get bored!

Brussel Sprout Salad

Brussel Sprout Salad

  • 9 oz shredded brussel sprouts
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

You can buy brussel sprouts pre shredded, I shredded mine with a pairing knife. Whisk oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper and then pour over sprouts. Toss to combine, refrigerate 30 minutes before serving. Delicious! It sort of reminds me of a lemony cole slaw.

Leave a Reply

