Healthy Chocolate Chip Waffles!

Happy Saturday!

This week has been full of muscle soreness for me, in a good way! Lately I have been vowing to try new fitness challenges to get in shape, and to get out of my rut doing the same workouts over and over! So this week I have:

1)Taken on 2 YouTube challenges

2) Tried a Tony Horton workout video with a group at church (seriously no joke… but I really enjoyed it!)

3) Went weight lifting with my husband at the gym

The YouTube challenges have left me panting for breath by the end, and a very sore butt- yay to both! The Tony Horton video (PX3) was really tough, and I probably wouldn’t buy these dvds but it was really enjoyable to change up what I’ve been doing. Lifting weights with my husband has left me with arms I can barely raise above my head, forearm soreness (I didn’t even know those could get sore…) and deltoid soreness. If I keep up these challenging workouts I’ll be ripped in no time, haha!

Now on to the waffle recipe!!

Healthy Chocolate Chip Waffles

Saturdays I don’t usually work out, and because of all my muscle soreness I thought today was the perfect day to take a rest! Since I had a little extra time this morning I made myself some healthy waffles. These can be fat free, and they have no added sugar.

Healthy Chocolate Chip Waffles

Healthy Chocolate Chip Waffles

  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • pinch salt
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch truvia
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tbsp dark chocolate chips (optional)

Mix all dry ingredients in large bowl, mix all wet ingredients in smaller bowl. Pour went into dry, and stir until mixed. Pour batter onto greased waffle iron, and cook until lightly browned. Top with whatever you like! I topped mine with 1/2 tbsp butter, fruit, and low calorie syrup! If you wish you can omit the oil to make this fat free, or you can add more oil if you want your waffle crispier. My breakfast came to 380 calories! Yum!!

Leave a Reply

