Healthy Shrimp and Mushroom Fettuccine Alfredo!

Happy Thursday!

This week I have had the WORST cold, ugh I hate colds in the summer even more than winter ones. I want to be outside having fun and instead I’m laying around on the couch! Hot tea to the rescue! Needless to say, I have not been working out very much. I’ve done a little pilates and yoga, but that has been about it. I have, however, had the energy to make cauliflower alfredo sauce.

Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

I know, I know. It sounds disgusting. And I will admit, it does not taste like your traditional alfredo sauce. It is, however, completely delicious! My husband even approves of it, and that’s saying a lot.

Healthy Shrimp and Mushroom Fettuccine Alfredo

I found this sauce recipe here, and over the last year or so I have made it about 5-6 times. It is now becoming one of my favorite meals to make! I put this sauce over fettuccine noodles, sauteed mushrooms and boiled shrimp. I think broccoli instead of mushrooms would be good, or even on plain noodles would be awesome too! This sauce is very versatile!

Healthy Shrimp and Mushroom Fettuccine Alfredo

  • 1 box fettuccine noodles
  • 1 bag frozen shrimp, thawed
  • 1 small container mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 large head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tbsp butter, divided
  • box vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • parmesan for garnish (optional)

Bring vegetable broth to a low boil and pour in cauliflower, cook until fork tender. While cauliflower is cooking, melt butter in a frying pan and saute garlic until fragrant and tender. Once cauliflower is done, use a slotted spoon to transfer cauliflower to a blender. Pour in butter and garlic, 1 cup vegetable broth (that was used to cook cauliflower), salt, pepper, olive oil, and milk.  Blend for a few minutes until completely smooth, keep hot!

While your sauce is blending, start some water boiling in a large pot for your pasta. Add pasta in once water is boiling, and cook until done. When pasta has about 5 minutes left, throw in thawed shrimp and allow to cook until done (shrimp will turn bright pink).

I sauteed my mushrooms in 1 tbsp butter until tender (take only a couple minutes). Then assemble your plate with pasta, shrimp, mushrooms, and alfredo sauce. Top with parmesan and you have a healthy and delicious meal! Enjoy! 🙂

Can you believe this sauce is only 49 calories for 1/2 cup? Most other traditional alfredo sauces are closer to 200 calories for 1/2 cup!

Have a healthy happy day!

Leave a Reply

