Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffins and a Run!

Happy Wednesday!

This morning I took a nice breezy 2 mile run, and I met this little guy!

Dog I met on my run

He actually ran with me for most of my run, how cute is that?! Plus it’s National Dog Day. He must have known that! I followed up my run with an upper body workout. Over that last few weeks I haven’t been doing very intense workouts due to sickness, laziness, etc so my workout today felt super hard, when it used to be pretty easy for me. Oh well, another reason to keep up a workout routine, because sometimes you quickly lose the progress you have made!

I have been in a super baking mood lately, and I decided to make some healthy raspberry chocolate chip muffins!

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

I got this recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction, and I am totally obsessed with her website. She has so many great recipes with clear instructions, and they always turn out the way they’re supposed to!

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 mashed very ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 3/4 cup fresh raspberries

Preheat oven to 325. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. In a medium bowl, whisk honey and brown sugar. It will be thick and lumpy, try to get it as smooth as possible. Whisk in bananas, yogurt, and egg. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry, and fold gently. Add milk gradually, folding gently until combined. Fold in chocolate chips, and then very gently fold in raspberries. Do not overmix, as the raspberries will turn your batter pink! Pour batter into greased muffin tins, and bake for 17-18 minutes. Check for doneness with a toothpick inserted that comes out mostly clean.

I yielded 18 muffins, at about 150 calories each. These are the BEST healthy muffins I have ever had! I left about 6 out and froze the rest, because my husband hates breakfast foods. They froze well, and to thaw them out I just popped one in the microwave for about 30-45 seconds. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

