Awesome Morning and Super Easy Crockpot Beef!

It’s FRIDAY! Woop woop!

I work on Saturdays so the weekend thrill isn’t exactly the same, but I’m still celebrating. 🙂 I started off my morning with Jillian Michaels Six Week Six Pack video, and MAN I had forgotten how tough that video was. But I really enjoyed it, and am really glad I’m getting back into tough workouts. They just make me feel so much more alive, and connected with my body (I feel like that’s a very yogi thing to say, haha!). I also did a 30 Day Butt Challenge video, since I try to shoot for hour long workouts.

Me post workout this morning, feel sweaty and awesome!

Me post workout this morning, feel sweaty and awesome!

After my workout I had a delicious breakfast, which is surprising since groceries are very low in the Winslow household right now… I always start to panic when I’m out of greek yogurt and almond milk! My breakfast was: a whole grain english muffin with a little light margarine, a handful of grapes, and 2 boiled eggs with a little honey drizzled on them. Yum!

Tasty Breakfast

Last night for dinner I made Garrett and I roast beef with carrots and potatoes in the crockpot. I also served this with kale sauteed in a little olive oil with garlic and chopped onion. Generally I would have served this with corn muffins but I thought kale would make a much healthier substitute! Also, I used to cook a lot more potatoes but I just decided to fill up on carrots instead. Me and Garrett always end up fighting over the carrots anyway, they are so delicious and tender out of the crockpot!

Roast beef in the crockpot with carrots and potatoes

Crockpot Beef

I don’t know about you, but I use my crockpot constantly! It’s one of my favorite kitchen appliances, and I don’t know what I would do without it. I can get a meal going in the morning, and when I get home from work we have a hot meal that required very little effort at all. Plus everything that comes out of the crockpot is so tender!

Crockpot Beef with Vegetables

  • chuck roast, around 2-3 pound
  • 8-10 carrots, peeled and cut into thirds
  • 4 small red potatoes, halved
  • cream of mushroom soup
  • Lipton onion soup mix
  • salt & pepper

First I rub the roast down with a little salt and pepper. Then heat a frying pan to high heat, and spray with cooking spray. Quickly sear the chuck roast on all sides until browned (this seals in the juices). Spray the crockpot with cooking spray, and place chuck roast inside. Arrange veggies around and on top of roast. In a small mixing bowl, whisk mushroom soup, 1 can of water, and Lipton onion soup mix together until combined. Then pour this mixture over the meat and veggies evenly. Turn your crockpot to low heat, and cook for 8 hours.

After it’s done, we usually take the roast out of the crockpot and place it on a platter for about 10 minutes to allow the roast to rest and for the juices to redistribute. Once it’s rested for a bit we slice it. However you could do other things with it too! It’s awesome shredded with some bbq sauce on top!

Leave a Reply

