Adventures in Quinoa: Clementine Quinoa Salad

So, last night I decided to join the masses of healthy eating junkies and make quinoa. I had only eaten it once, and never cooked it myself. I was even one of those losers that called it “kwin-oh-ah” instead of “keen-wah”. But I am trendy now, I promise!! I thought “Well, this salad I’m making is really not much of an undertaking so I should be done in like 30 minutes!” SO not true.

Apparently you can overcook quinoa. Overcook it awfully, to the point it tastes like water! Just for reference, this is what it looks like when it’s over cooked.

Ick

Ughhhh. Thankfully the package I bought of quinoa had 2 servings, so hooray! I just made it again using the rice cooker, ending in much better (and faster) results. After trying this Clementine Quinoa Salad, I can totally see why people love it. Plus the dressing from this salad is so good, I will be using it on salads next week for sure!

Clementine Quinoa Salad

I think I am completely hooked! It has TONS of health benefits, and keeps you full for hours. Plus it’s very versatile. You guys can definitely expect more quinoa recipes to come!

Clementine Quinoa Salad (adapted from damn delicious)

  • 1 cup quinoa (any kind, I just happened to use red)
  • 2-1/2 clementines, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced (leave seeds in if you want some heat)
  • 1 cup canned black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 cup corn

Orange Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup orange juice (I just juiced a couple clementines)
  • zest of 1 clementine
  • 1 tbsp sugar

Prepare quinoa according to package directions and set aside (I use a rice cooker). To make vinaigrette, whisk all ingredients together and set aside. In a large bowl, combine all salad ingredients and pour vinaigrette on top. Give it a toss, and enjoy! I prefer this hot, but I think it would be delicious cold as well. Makes 4 servings at about 400 calories a piece. Yum!

I omitted a few things from the original recipe for personal preference. I’m one of those people that thinks cilantro tastes like soap… according to my husband it’s a genetic trait?! He might be making that one up though, haha!

Leave a Reply

