Chocolate Fudge Protein Bars

Today marks my first week done with 21 Day Fix! Hoooray!

1 week down!

1 week down!

I can honestly say I have done my very best with my nutrition, and I have worked really hard in each workout this week. This is the first time ever that I have worked out 7 days in a row, with no rest days in sight. This week has been a week of perpetual soreness, haha! I know that will go away with time as the workouts get easier for me, but right now the soreness really sucks. But I can already feel myself having more energy, and more confidence when I’m doing tough workouts and making great nutrition a priority.

Yesterday I was super proud of myself! Garrett and I went to Firehouse subs for lunch, and I got a Hook & Ladder light, which was 450 calories (or around there), and I had a pickle and water! After that we went to Sweet Frog, and I got low fat yogurt with coconut, strawberries, and almonds. Woohoo! Those choices were hard at the moment, but afterwards I didn’t feel guilty or heavy. I felt amazing! 🙂 I meant to take pictures, but I was seriously bordering on hangry (a.k.a. anger caused by hunger). By the time I realized I should take pictures, all my food was gone! Woops!

I am a big snack person. I have preworkout snacks, and I eat afternoon snacks. This is mostly due to my acid reflux, but also if I’m not crazy hungry I make better choices. I like to eat protein bars before my workouts (usually half, or 1/3 of one) but they can be expensive! Plus they can have all sorts of artificial sweeteners and other ingredients that just aren’t good for you. If you make them at home, you can control what goes into them!

Chocolate Fudge Protein Bars

When I tried one this morning, I took a bite and literally said “Oh!”. I was so surprised by how fudgy and delicious they are! I have tried a lot of black bean brownie recipes and was not impressed by any of them. These, however, I would eat gladly any time of day! In fact it takes some restraint not to eat the whole pan, haha!

Chocolate Fudge Protein Bars

I found this recipe at Chocolate Covered Katie. Her blog is seriously one of my favorites, I have been making her recipes for years!

Chocolate Fudge Protein Bars

  • 1 15oz can black beans
  • 1/4 cup plus 3 tbsp chocolate protein powder
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • pinch truvia
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 3 1/2 tbsp coconut oil

Put all ingredients except chocolate chips into food processor or blender, and blend until completely smooth. (Original recipe says to use a food processor but my Ninja blender worked just fine!) Stir in chocolate chips, and pour into greased 8×8 pan. Bake at 350 for 16 minutes, they may look underdone. Let cool, and pat down with a spatula. Place in refrigerator overnight to allow them to firm up. Cut into squares, and enjoy! Keep leftovers in refrigerator. I cut mine into 15 pieces, and they’re 86 calories a piece.

Have a healthy happy day y’all! 🙂

One thought on “Chocolate Fudge Protein Bars

Leave a Reply

