Saturday Weigh In and a Blue Cheese Salad!

Happy Saturday!

I have some WONDERFUL news. Well, maybe not to anyone else, but I am thrilled to say I lost 2 lbs this week! That puts me down to 151, the lowest I have weighed in a very long time. I haven’t been able to get below 152 since June, so this is a bit of a breakthrough. Since I started 21 Day Fix, I have worked out every day (10 days now). This was not as hard of a transition as I thought it would be, and I actually think it works for me to not take a rest day! With 21 Day Fix you have 5 days of tough 30 minute workouts and 2 active rest days, one with yoga and one with pilates and I am really enjoying it!

These past 10 days I have also been eating ridiculously healthy. Like, the healthiest I have EVER eaten in my whole life. And, truthfully, I think if you find the right recipes for you and can control cravings for unhealthy foods you can eat very clean and still feel satisfied. One of the major things that has helped me is my chocolate fudge protein bars. I have been eating these as preworkout snacks, and also afternoon snacks. Sometimes (if my calories permit) I’ve been eating 2 for a snack. They totally knock out my need for sweet things and chocolate at the same time! Plus, because of the black beans, they keep me full and hold me over until it’s time for a meal! Black beans are awesome because they’re a complex carbohydrate that give you energy for much longer than more processed ones.

One salad I had this week was a blue cheese salad!

Blue Cheese Salad

This salad has: lettuce, croutons, 1/2 avocado, 2 tbsp blue cheese, 1/4 cup chickpeas, and drizzled with a little balsamic vinegar and olive oil. The blue cheese gives it amazing flavor, and the avocado and chickpeas make this a super filling salad. Yum!!

Last night I feel pretty awesome about the healthy choices I made. First, we went to a Mexican restaurant where there were virtually no healthy dishes to choose from, so I got the healthiest one they had! I got a grilled chicken salad in a fried shell, and it was actually really delicious!

Chicken Salad

Now, I did eat very healthy the rest of the day to give myself some extra calories for dinner. I only ate 1/2 of the chicken, I scraped off most of the cheese, and I ate all the veggies (there were tons under there, I promise). I ate some of the shell because it was delicious (duh!), but I didn’t eat any chips! Also I went to a birthday party after this and didn’t drink any alcohol or eat any cake!

Yaaaay for small victories! 🙂

Leave a Reply

