Asian Quinoa Salad

Yesterday I was not terribly happy with my food choices. I made some good choices, and some not-so-good ones. Let’s just say I DEFINITELY went over my calorie count for the day. When I woke up this morning, I was in a foul mood and did NOT want to work out. I wanted to stay in bed and take a rest day.

But, I didn’t! I woke up early and got in a 21 Day Fix workout, and followed that up with a Ruby Red Smoothie! My workout instantly lifted my spirits, and my smoothie left me feeling nourished and ready to take on the day. 🙂 Stumbling is perfectly human, the important thing is to get back up and keep going!

Last night I made this super easy quinoa salad. I got the recipe here. It’s so filling, and full of veggies and flavor! Plus it’s pretty- look at all those colors!

Asian Quinoa Salad

I usually like to eat salads for lunch at work because they’re quick to make and keep me full until dinner time (or at least snack time, haha). So I thoroughly enjoyed this one for lunch today!

Asian Quinoa Salad

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup grated carrot
  • 1/4 cup chopped red cabbage
  • 1/4 cup corn
  • 1/4 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup chow mein noodles (for serving)

Sesame Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp ground ginger

Cook quinoa according to package directions, set aside. To make vinaigrette, whisk all ingredients together and set aside. Toss vegetables, vinaigrette, and quinoa together and enjoy! This makes 2 servings. One serving is 501 calories!

Have a healthy happy day y’all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

