Ruby Red Smoothie!

So, the other evening I had some extra time on my hands (which doesn’t seem to happen all that often any more) and I plopped myself in front of Netflix. I discovered my newest obsession: Death Comes to Pemberley.

Death Comes to Pemberly

Has anyone else discovered this show?! It’s only 3 episodes but it was amazing! I REALLY hope they do another season!

The last couple of weeks I have been trying to make new recipes with veggies I rarely eat. This week I made myself a Ruby Red Smoothie with beets! I know, that sounds kindof disgusting. But it’s totally not!

Ruby Red Smoothie

This smoothie tastes like pomegranate, raspberries, and banana. It’s absolutely delicious, plus it has tons of health benefits!

Ruby Red Smoothie

I had no idea beets had so many- they have antioxidants, detoxify the blood, help maintain healthy sex drive, AND boost endurance and muscle recovery! I am definitely going to try to find new ways to get beets in my diet on a regular basis. As a side note, I did have to roast a beet for this recipe. To do this is very simple! Just put the washed beet in a foil packet on a baking sheet, and stick it in a 375 degree oven for 45-60 minutes until tender. Let cool, and then peel. The peel will just fall off, super easy! Though I will give you a tip- you should probably wear gloves because they can really stain your hands.

Roasted Beet

I got the original recipe here, and made some changes to suit my own taste.

Ruby Red Smoothie

  • 1/2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/3 cup plain greek yogurt
  • pinch truvia
  • 1/4 cup POM juice
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 roasted beet, chopped
  • 3 frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 frozen banana
  • 4 ice cubes

Blend everything on a low speed until smooth. Be careful not to over blend or it will get foamy! This smoothie comes to 294 calories! Enjoy! 🙂

One thought on “Ruby Red Smoothie!

Leave a Reply

