Muffins and Oatmeal, Oh My!

The last few days I have been a little under the weather, again. This is the second cold I’ve had in less than a month, which is crazy since I eat healthy and work out! I’m thinking it’s really time I started taking vitamins. If anyone has any suggestions on good vitamins to take to prevent illness, please let me know.

Even though I was still feeling sick this morning, I got in a 21 Day Fix Pilates workout. I followed that up with some Hidden Greens Protein Oatmeal!

Hidden Greens Protein Oatmeal

I’ve got the recipe below, it’s amazing.

Also, since it’s officially fall, that means I’m switching over to Pumpkin-Palooza! I will definitely be making plenty of pumpkin recipes coming up, and the first one I made was Chocolate Pumpkin Spice muffins!

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

I got the recipe here, at Sally’s Baking Addiction (no lie, I’m becoming addicted to her blog, hehe). I’m not going to put the recipe up here but believe me, they’re awesome! I didn’t make any changes to the recipe, they are perfect the way they are. 130 calories a piece, and full of flavor! I’ve been eating them for breakfast, afternoon snacks, and pre workout snacks. Yum!

Ok, on to the oatmeal. The recipe is super simple!

Hidden Greens Protein Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup water
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 zucchini, finely grated
  • pinch sweetener, like truvia
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • pinch sea salt

Bring water, oatmeal, and salt to a boil in a medium sauce pan. Cook on medium heat until most water has evaporated, and add cocoa powder and zucchini. Continue to cook 2-3 minutes. Take off heat, and stir in protein powder and sweetener. Pour warmed peanut butter over oatmeal, and sprinkle with sea salt.

SO GOOD. The sea salt makes it sweet and salty! I will definitely start making this in the mornings as a post workout breakfast. I also plan to experiment with this and maybe even make it pumpkin flavored!!

One thought on “Muffins and Oatmeal, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

