Fiesta Pasta Salad!

This morning I got in a really nice 3 mile run- I’ve noticed my speed has really improved since I pick up running again! I did some foam rolling afterwards because I’ve been starting to have a little knee pain again, ugh!

Here lately I have been really craving peanut butter and chocolate. Such a tasty combination, but also very high calorie! To curb this I have been eating this snack:

Snack

Slice apples, 1 tbsp peanut butter, and 1 tbsp mini dark chocolate chips. I just heat the peanut butter and drizzle over the apples, and then sprinkled on some dark chocolate chips! Yum! I’ve definitely been craving Reese cups but this snack fills me up more, and is way healthier for me!

I tried a new recipe this week, and my husband (shockingly) really liked it! Generally if I make something meatless he wants no part in it, but he really enjoyed it!

Fiesta Pasta Salad

This pasta salad would be good paired with grilled chicken, I think! I found the recipe here, and made some changes to it to suit my own tastes.

Fiesta Pasta Salad

  • about 8 oz bow tie pasta
  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 orange bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 small frozen bag of corn
  • 1/2 can black beans
  • crushed red pepper (optional)

Dressing

  • 1/2 cup hot salsa
  • 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • 2 tbsp light mayonnaise
  • 1/2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • salt & pepper to taste

Boil your pasta according to package directions, drain and rinse with cold water. Toss pasta with all the veggies. Stir all dressing ingredients together, and pour over salad. Give it a good toss again, and garnish with crushed red pepper if you like! I thought this was good with a lot of heat, and I LOVE spicy food! 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

