Saturday Weigh In, Eat Good Feel Good!

eatgood

Happy Saturday everyone!

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Saturday Weigh In post so I thought I would update you guys. This morning I weighed in at 154, which is 1 lb less than last week. Yaaaay! 🙂 My goal is still to weigh around 135 and I haven’t gotten any closer to that goal in months. But I can say that I have kept off all the weight I’ve lost (about 20 lbs) so to me that is certainly a win. My short term goal is to be 149 or less by Thanksgiving, which for me is an attainable goal if I stay consistent with my workouts and nutrition.

I do have a bit of a confession, though. My goal originally was to count my calories using My Fitness Pal every day for a year. While I did keep that up until about 3 weeks ago, I have since only used My Fitness Pal to look up calories or to add them up for a recipe I have made. It was beginning to feel more like a chore and less helpful. I still have a vague calorie goal for each day, and I DO count my calories in my head. I can do that now because I have a very firm grasp on how many calories are in the food I eat, and I have finally created a habit to choose healthy foods over less nutritious ones without even thinking about it. Since I have stopped calorie counting, I also feel like I can listen to my body more. I am constantly asking myself “Am I hungry, or bored?” and “Am I full, or do I just want to finish what’s on my plate?” Eating mindfully is really important, and it’s something that I have always struggled with. But I’m getting better all the time! 🙂

If you are thinking about counting calories I would highly recommend it. If I hadn’t counted, there is no way I would have been able to lose the 20 lbs I have lost. Apps like My Fitness Pal also have things like sugar, fiber, protein, and vitamins so you can see how your nutrition measures up to what it should be. I would also say that over time it gets much easier to choose low calorie more nutritious food. Now I am really not satisfied by a meal that doesn’t have fruit or vegetables in it. I have realized that more nutritious foods fill me up faster, and leave me feeling more energetic and happier! I am a firm believer in “eat good, feel good” because it’s true! Not to mention the fact that these foods make you look good too!

Have a healthy happy Saturday y’all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

