Zucchini Chocolate Chip Pancakes and a Run!

This morning I got in my first run since Halloween, which is kindof a long time. I had planned on just “getting through” 2 miles because I knew my run would probably not go so well… I was actually totally wrong!

0A83EB5F-151B-4A07-A87D-A012D5CB7246

The weather was so nice I didn’t want to go in, so I ran 4 miles! They were very slow, but I did them and felt awesome afterwards! Plus I was rockin’ my Wicked 10K shirt. I don’t know about you, but I am always happier when I like what I’m wearing! 🙂

In my last post I talked about having a rough two weeks with health and fitness but this week I have gotten back into my usual rhythm and I’m feeling much better and more optimistic… working out and eating healthy will do that to you!

My favorite snack this week has been:

IMG_1065

A fruit parfait with banana and mango! I flavor 1/2 cup plain 0% Greek yogurt with a little vanilla and stevia, throw in some sliced mango and banana, and top it with 1/4 cup granola. Yum!!

Last night for dinner (and this morning for breakfast…) I made some zucchini chocolate chip pancakes.

IMG_1075

This was a new one for me, and I got it from Chocolate Covered Katie (one of my favorite food blogs of all time, PLEASE check it out). I had originally planned on using the zucchini for chocolate protein oatmeal but decided to try something new!

IMG_1066

Plus pancakes are always a good idea. 🙂

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Pancakes

  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • pinch stevia
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (may need more)
  • 1/3 cup finely grated zucchini
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp mini chocolate chips

Whisk together all wet ingredients in a small bowl. Stir together all the rest of the ingredients in a medium bowl. Pour wet into dry, and whisk until combined. You may need to add more milk to the batter, but start with 1/4 cup and add more gradually to thin the batter. Let sit in the refrigerator for 15 minutes. Grease a frying pan and set to medium heat. Once the pan is hot enough, pour batter onto pan in small batches and cook until the edges begin to look dry and there are bubbles in the middle. Flip and cook an additional minute. Serve hot with syrup!

I’m not sure how many servings this is supposed to be, but for me it was 2. I made 4 medium sized ones and ate two with some eggs for my post workout breakfast, and it was perfect!

Have a healthy happy weekend everybody!

Leave a Reply

