Resolve to be Happy!

Happy New Year everyone!

I think it is SO funny how Walmart is packed to the brim with all fitness related stuff around New Years. Plus all the weight watchers commercials… why can’t we all try to be healthy all year?! I also get a little sick of all the ads I see everywhere saying “New Year, New You”. Um, you will still be YOU next year, no matter how many gyms you join or what color your hair is, or what clothes you wear! Being happy in your own skin is a journey and reinventing yourself in one day is probably not the best way to do it. Starting healthy habits takes time, as well it should since it took quite a long time to make the unhealthy ones!

I am, however, subscribing to the belief that New Years Resolutions are a good thing, and I usually make a few each year. In the past they were pretty much always one thing: lose weight. This year I am trying to think of my life goals as more than how I look, but how I feel and how I can be a better vessel for Jesus. So here goes!

  1. Be kind. To everyone. This does not come naturally for me as I am more often than not sarcastic! I am also not terribly social. But if I expect people to see Jesus in me, I had better show them kindness!
  2. Sign up for a half marathon in 2016. I think I will be doing one in the spring, but I’m not sure yet. But I will definitely be doing one this year. And I.CAN’T.WAIT.
  3. Make at least 2 recipes out of my new cookbook each week! My husband (who clearly knows me better than I know myself) bought me the Skinnytaste cookbook for Christmas and a new food processor! I didn’t even ask for a cookbook so I am beyond impressed he got me one that I am excited to cook from! Expect to see many blog posts on these recipes- they look so delicious and so good for you. They even include nutritional facts!!!!!

img_1200

I wish all of you the happiest of New Years. May you be blessed with a wonderful 2016! 🙂

Leave a Reply

