Jerk Chicken Tacos and a Few Days Catch Up!

Happy Tuesday everyone!

This morning I did Jillian Michaels’ 6 Week Six Pack video (I have SERIOUSLY been needing to do some ab work lately) and had a cookies & cream protein shake.

img_1219

Seriously, where has cookies & cream protein powder been all my life?! It’s delicious! For this shake I wanted to keep my calories low, so I just put in 1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt, pinch Truvia, 1/2 scoop cookies & cream protein powder, 1 cup almond milk, 1 cup ice cubes. It was super cold this morning, so my shake may not have been the best option for keeping me warm, haha! I actually looked out the window after my work out and it was snowing!

So I’ve been trying to get back into healthy eating, and have mostly been successful! I had a frontega chicken sandwich at Panera the other day with black bean soup and an apple. (Yes that is a Nora Roberts book in the background, I have been sucked into her books lately!)

img_1207

I was shocked it was only about 540 calories for the whole meal! I have also been putting in plenty of snuggle time with Chloe on my new bedding I got for Christmas. 🙂

img_1206

Jerk chicken tacos is the first recipe I have made out of my new Skinnytaste cookbook, and I have to say it did not disappoint!

They were delicious and I have been using the chicken for other things too, like salads. I put the chicken on my crunchy Thai peanut salad that I have made a zillion times and it worked perfectly!

Jerk Chicken Tacos (from Skinnytaste)

  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp jerk seasoning
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tsp lime juice, 1 tbsp lime juice (divided)
  • 1 mango chopped
  • 1 avocado chopped
  • 1 tbsp chopped red onion
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • yellow corn tortillas (I used Mission)

Combine first 5 ingredients in crockpot, and cook on high for 2 hours. After chicken is done, shred or chop it, whichever you prefer. Combine mango, avocado, red onion, and salt and pepper to make salsa. Then, get a frying pan heated over medium-high heat and cook each tortilla until crispy and slightly browned. I cooked each side for about 45 seconds and then flipped it. Assemble tacos with tortilla, chicken, and salsa and you’re done!

I didn’t realize until I made this recipe how much lower the calories are if you eat yellow corn tortillas compared to the regular bleached flour ones. It’s a huge difference! Plus the corn ones have a great texture and flavor. I think we’re switching to these from now on!

 

Leave a Reply

