Fat Free Banana Bread

So I don’t know if anyone else likes this show, but I have become OBSESSED with The Great British Baking Show on Netflix. I cried when I watched the final… I cried watching a cooking show??? Well I certainly couldn’t keep watching it and not bake anything, so I made fat free banana bread last night with some way-past-their-prime bananas.

img_1226

This glorious piece of banana bread slathered in peanut butter was my breakfast this morning, thank you very much. And it was awesome!

Fat Free Banana Bread

  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • pinch Truvia
  • 2 1/2 mashed overripe bananas (not an exact measurement, haha!)
  • additional add ins optional: blueberries, strawberries, walnuts, chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl mix all wet ingredients, and  pour into dry ingredients. Stir by hand until incorporated, do not over stir! Pour batter into greased loaf pan and bake 30-35 minutes. Take out of loaf pan and allow to cool at least 10 minutes before slicing, store in refrigerator. With no additional add ins, this bread is only 130 calories a slice! Makes 10-12 slices.

I just made mine plain with no add ins, but you can add all sorts of things in addition to what I suggest above! I know adding peanut butter to fat free bread defeats the purpose a bit, but MAN that was good. It’s also good with butter or nutella! Or nothing at all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

