Slow Cooker Santa Fe Chicken and Yoga!

It’s Friday, it’s Friday!!! *sings*

I’m so happy it’s almost the weekend! Going back to work after break for Christmas is hard… adulting is hard in general, haha!

Since I am definitely signing up for a half marathon soon, I am trying to get rededicated to healthy eating and working out on the regular. I think I’m going to try a bit stricter diet and have a “cheat meal” once a week. I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

This morning I got in an awesome yoga video. This one is 45 minutes long, and will have you sweating in no time! This one actually has some cardio in it so it’s perfect for me! I really love yoga because it stretches you out while also strengthening your muscles. In addition it’s a great stress reliever, along with most other exercise I think.

Last night I tried another Skinnytaste recipe and surprise surprise… Garrett and I loved it! It’s Santa Fe Chicken, and it’s super easy and very versatile. Plus it’s a slow cooker recipe, which I love because I can put everything in the crockpot in the morning, and when I get home from work I have a delicious meal waiting for me!

You eat this as a stew (which I did) topped with chopped scallions and a little plain Greek yogurt.

You can have it over brown rice with lime juice (which I also did!) if you want a bit heavier meal. She also suggests it as an enchilada filler, which I will certainly try at some point!  1 cup is only 181 calories, which makes this a total winner to me.

Slow Cooker Santa Fe Chicken

  • 1 can (14oz) chicken broth
  • 1 can (14 oz) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes with chiles
  • 3 chopped scallions (plus some extra for topping)
  • 1 1/2 lbs chicken
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Put all ingredients except chicken into crockpot and stir. Season chicken with salt and pepper and place in crockpot. Cook on low 10 hours. About 30 minutes before serving, shred chicken in crockpot. Serve as a soup topped with scallions and Greek yogurt, over rice, as enchilada filler, etc. The possibilities are endless! 🙂 I added slightly more chicken broth to mine, because I wanted it to be soupier (um, it’s January and freezing!).

Have a healthy happy weekend y’all!

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Santa Fe Chicken and Yoga!

Leave a Reply

