Avocado Breakfast Sandwich and 12 Week Half Marathon Plan!

Yesterday morning I had this amazing avocado breakfast sandwich:

It is a super simple recipe anybody could make! I got it from my new Skinnytaste cookbook but you barely need instructions to make this! It’s funny how I used to HATE avocados and now I absolutely love them. Plus they’re so good for you, with tons of healthy fats. You do need to be careful how much you eat though, as they are quite high in calories as far as fruits go.

Avocado Breakfast Sandwich

  • 2 egg whites, beaten
  • 2 tbsp chopped scallions
  • 2 tbsp chopped red bell pepper
  • 2 tbsp chopped and seeded tomato
  • 2 slices whole wheat toast
  • 1 tbsp butter (optional)
  • 1/4 sliced avocado
  • salt & pepper to taste

Heat a medium sized pan to medium heat, and spray with cooking spray. Throw in scallions, bell pepper, and tomato, season and cook about 1 minute or until slightly tender. Lower heat to medium low, pour in egg whites, season and cook until set (about 40 seconds for me). Using a spatula, fold over half of the eggwhites to a crescent moon shape. Cook for a few seconds, then fold again. Assemble sandwich with buttered toast, egg mixture, and sliced avocado. Enjoy! 🙂

The original recipe doesn’t use butter, but I just knew I wouldn’t like it unless it had a little! I’m from the south, what can you do?!

I am so excited about starting half marathon training Sunday! I have been going over training schedules this week and, after taking the best parts of several of them, I have made my own. Feel free to use it, or not!

half marathon plan

fr=foam roll, mi=mile, m=meter, I used abbreviations to save space!

I am not a professional but I can say that last year I did a schedule very similar to this and everything worked out just fine for me. No, I do not have any scheduled rest days, that is pretty much what my yoga/stretch day is for. No rest days just works better for me, I find that I eat better when I don’t take a rest day. I know it’s all psychological, but it works for me!

My sister thinks I’m a nut for being excited about training, but I really truly am! I am SO looking forward to those long runs with nothing to do but spend quiet time with my iPod! Have a healthy happy day y’all! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

