Banana Nut Oat Muffins and a Run!

Good morning! Here it has been SUPER cold (at least cold for North Carolina), but I have been keeping up my running anyway, as you can see.

img_1525

I came back home from my 3 mile run yesterday and realized I couldn’t feel my arms… or my legs… or my torso… so yeah, winter totally sucks in my book! After my run I had a greek yogurt fruit parfait and a delicious banana nut oat muffin though, which is the recipe I am sharing today!

img_1526

These muffins are moist, sweet, and very filling. Not to mention they are only 162 calories a piece! Normally I put butter or peanut butter on banana bread, but these have tons of flavor and really don’t need a thing on them at all! Also I’d like to mention, this recipe uses white whole wheat flour. Am I the only one that didn’t know that was a thing?! Apparently it has all the health benefits of whole wheat but bakes up almost like all purpose. Amazing right?!

img_1527

Banana Nut Oat Muffins (from Skinnytaste with modifications)

  • 1 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana (this was 2 1/2 bananas for me)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Pour oats and almond milk into a large bowl and stir, let sit for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 400F (I did 375F because my pan is dark) and line with 12 cupcake liners that are lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Add brown sugar, banana, egg whites, honey, oil, and vanilla to oats and stir. In a medium bowl, mix remaining ingredients together. Then pour this mixture gradually into your oat mixture, and stir only until incorporated. Do not overmix. Pour batter into liners, and bake 22-25 minutes until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let cool before eating, as the texture changes!

I stored 6 of these in my refrigerator (because baked goods with banana tend to go bad quickly on the counter), and froze the other 6 to eat later. These are really delicious, and super filling with 2.5g of fiber and 4g of protein per muffin. I have been eating these for breakfast, and afternoon snacks too.

Enjoy, and have a happy healthy day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

