Beef and Broccoli Lightened Up!

This morning I had strength training on my schedule, so I did Jillian Michaels’ 6 Week 6 Pack video this morning! When training for long distance running, hitting your abs is extremely important to protect your back. I learned this the hard way as I used to only run and did no strength training whatsoever! You will inevitably end up with a lot more aches and pains than if you did strength training. After my video, I had some yummy chia pudding with fruit and some greek yogurt to add in a bit more protein!

img_1536

I am burnin’ through my new Skinnytaste cookbook, and loving every minute of it! I have a new recipe from this book today: Beef and Broccoli. I LOVE Chinese food, but it is often bad for you with tons of fat and sodium. I have never been good at making Chinese food at home, so only the simplest recipes seem to work for me. This one fit the bill, and is now one of my husband’s favorites!

img_1531

I served this with some brown rice and it was awesome. I have recently changed from white rice to brown rice mostly because it has more protein and fiber, and  also because I feel better when I eat brown rice rather than white, which is important!

img_1532

Beef and Broccoli Lightened Up (from Skinnytaste)

  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 3 tbsp + 2 tsp reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • 4 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 lb sirloin steak, trimmed and thinly sliced against the grain
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 cups broccoli florets
  • 4 medium green onions cut into 1 inch pieces, white and greens separated
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 2 tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp oyster sauce

In a shallow container, whisk cornstarch, 2 tsp soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, and 1 tsp sesame oil. Season steak with salt and place meat in this mixture and allow to marinate for 30 minutes at room temperature. Boil broccoli for about 1 minute, or until bright green and slightly tender. Strain and rinse with cold water, set aside. Heat a large wok over high heat, add 1 tsp of oil and half the beef. Cook each side of the beef about 30 seconds and brown on all sides. Repeat with remaining meat and another tsp of oil. Set meat aside. Heat remaining tsp of oil in wok and add onion whites, garlic, and ginger cooking until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add broccoli, brown sugar, 3 tbsp soy sauce, and oyster sauce and cook for 30 seconds. Add beef and cook 30 seconds more, remove from heat and stir in onion greens.

Get ready for a yummy weeknight meal that requires very little time or work! Serve with rice if desired. 🙂

Leave a Reply

