Maple Cinnamon Quinoa Breakfast Bowl and Yoga!

Happy Monday!

Yesterday I got in a blissful 5 mile run in sunny 60 degree weather. Winter, I will never miss you. Then this morning I did some yoga to try and stretch out my muscles from that run! I did this one for my hamstrings, and this one to help stretch out my lower back. Those are the parts of me that are always tight after a run, or just in general!

After my yoga I decided to make a breakfast experiment. I had leftover quinoa sitting in my fridge for a couple of days and I was wracking my brain trying to think of what to do with it… and this experiment turned out extremely delicious and filling! Plus it helps with a sweet tooth when I really want pancakes or waffles… which are ok too!

img_1549

Maple Cinnamon Quinoa Breakfast Bowl

  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • handful of blueberries
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • cinnamon to taste
  • 1 tbsp slivered almonds

Mix quinoa with syrup and cinnamon, then put in microwave and heat until warmed through. Top with banana, blueberries, and almonds. That’s it!

This took me probably 2 minutes to make and kept me full for hours. I think this would be an exceptional pre workout breakfast since it’s got lots of carbs and healthy fats! Mine came to 317 calories. Yummm!

 

Leave a Reply

