Crispy Coconut Chicken Salad!

Happy Saturday to you! It has been SO cold here, I am becoming increasingly ready for spring. I’m tired of wearing a hat, gloves, and a scarf everywhere I go!!!!!! Not to mention the fact that my long runs are quite miserable when it’s so cold out. WHEW. Rant over, haha!

Cold weather aside, I have been staying with my half marathon training plan very well and so far have only missed a couple of workouts over the course of 4 weeks. In addition, I’ve lost 3 lbs. Yaaay! I do have a long run scheduled for tomorrow, but with a high of 28 degrees no way Jose! I will be doing intervals instead on the treadmill, thank you very much.

Lately I have started reading The Joy of Half a Cookie by Jean Kristeller, which is on cultivating a healthy relationship with food. A few of my posts have touched on this, that I have really never had a good relationship with food. It’s either avoid food I can’t control myself around, or binge. There seems to be no middle ground for me, and that is NOT healthy at all. This book has definitely been an eye opener and I will be doing a review once I finish it (which at the rate I’m going will be in less than a week!).

The other night Garrett and I wanted to fix something for dinner that required little to no work but was tasty, so we came up with this baby.

img_1563

 

Fried buffalo shrimp salad. We pretty much just threw together what we had in the fridge/freezer. Fried shrimp tossed in buffalo sauce, over mixed veggies with cheese and ranch dressing. YUM!

In other news, I have still been breezing through the Skinnytaste cookbook, and came upon another gem. This crispy coconut chicken salad:

Yes, it tastes even better than it looks. It satisfied my craving for fried food, without the frying! The coconut mixed with the bite in the honey mustard vinaigrette is to die for. Plus, my husband who is a self proclaimed meat-a-tarian  thoroughly enjoyed it.

Crispy Coconut Chicken Salad

  • spinach & romaine lettuce (or whatever greens you like)
  • shredded carrots
  • sliced cucumber
  • halved grape tomatoes
  • 8 chicken tenderloins
  • 1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut
  • 1/3 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 3 tbsp crushed cornflakes
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 egg whites, beaten
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 4 tsp olive oil
  • 4 tsp honey
  • 4 tsp white vinegar

Preheat oven to 325. Spray cookie sheet with cooking spray. Mix coconut, bread crumbs, cornflakes, and salt in a shallow bowl. Dip each tenderloin in egg whites, and then place in coconut mixture and coat well on each side, and place on cookie sheet. Spray the top of each tenderloin with cooking spray, and place in the oven. Cook 15 minutes, then flip each tenderloin and cook another 15 minutes or until done. To make dressing, stir together mustard, oil, honey, and vinegar. Assemble veggies on plates, and top each plate with 2 tenderloins, sliced diagonally. Warm dressing in microwave for a few seconds, and spoon some on each salad. BOOM. You have a super delicious salad with very little work at all! 🙂

I ate this salad as a wrap as well, and it was awesome! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

